Committees and Commissions

Committee Appointments & Commissions of Council

Council committees are created under the  Community Charter to provide an opportunity for members of the public to work collaboratively and provide advice on matters referred to them by Council through their Terms of Reference. Members of the public interested in joining one of the advisory committees may complete the apply when vacancies are advertised through traditional and social media, with most vacancies occurring at the beginning of the Council term.

Select Committees

Council Representative(s) or Liaison(s) & Alternates
Administration & Personnel CommitteeMayor Moore
Councillor Nightingale
Councillor Bowman
Design Review PanelCouncillor Miller
Tourism RosslandCouncillor Bowman
Mayor Moore
Rossland Historical Museum & Archives AssociationCouncillor Bowman
Lower Columbia Community Development Team SocietyCouncillor Spooner
Rossland Public LibraryCouncillor Miller
Lion’s Campground CommitteeCouncillor Spooner
Age-Friendly & Seniors CentreMayor Moore
Youth Action Network (YAN)Councillor Spooner
Regional Recreation CommitteeMayor Moore
Councillor Morel
Councillor Nightingale
Midtown Transition Area Development CommitteeMayor Moore
Councillor Bowman
Councillor Nightingale
Highway 3 Mayors & Chairs CoalitionMayor Moore

Regional District of Kootenay Boundary (RDKB) Appointments

Regional District of Kootenay Boundary DirectorCouncillor Morel
Councillor Nightingale (alternate)
Kootenay Boundary Regional Hospital DistrictCouncillor Nightingale
Councillor Morel (alternate)

Committees Established by Bylaw

Sustainability Commission Liaison Councillor Lewis
Councillor Nightingale (alternate)
Heritage Commission LiaisonCouncillor Bowman

Heritage Commission

Each year, the Commission will submit to Council an operating budget request outlining expected expenditures and revenues. The Commission may authorize expenditures provided for in its annual operating budget, as approved by Council, but shall not otherwise have the authority to incur any expense, debt or obligation to the City without the prior approval of Council.

Learn More arrow

Sustainability Commission

Rossland City Council appointed the Sustainability Commission to help guide the implementation of the Strategic Sustainability Plan. The Commission is governed by the Sustainability Commission Bylaw. Currently, the Sustainability Commission is comprised of the following task forces: Economic Development, Energy, Food Security and Bear Smart Advisory.

Learn More arrow
Close +
Back to Top