City Council

About City Council

Since March 18, 1897 when the City of Rossland was first incorporated, the responsibility for local government in Rossland has been vested in a Mayor and Council. The Mayor and six Councillors make up City Council.

The primary functions of City Council are to establish administrative policy, to adopt bylaws governing matters delegated to local government through the Local Government Act, Community Charter and other Provincial statutes for the protection of the public, and to levy taxes for these purposes. City Council is also empowered to manage, acquire and dispose of City assets. The day-to-day operation of the City is delegated by Council to the Chief Administrative Officer and City Staff.

2020 Acting Mayor Schedule:

  • Councillor Nightingale – January 2020
  • Councillor Morel – February 2020
  • Councillor Spooner – March 2020
  • Councillor Bowman – May 2020
  • Councillor Morel – June 2020
  • Councillor Nightingale – July 2020
  • Councillor Lewis – August 2020
  • Councillor Spooner – September 2020
  • Councillor Bowman - October 2020
  • Councillor Bowman – November 2020
  • Councillor Lewis – December 2020

For the 2020 Council schedule click here.

For the 2021 Council schedule click here.

For the 2020 Council Committee appointments click here.

For the 2019 - 2022 Corporate Strategic plan click here.